View Full Version : staff changes

eclectica
2006-04-11, 10:11
For the last three years I have had the experience of being the Administrator of this forum. Three years ago as a new Administrator I felt that it was an imbalance for me to be the only one on the forum with any power. So I recruited Super Moderators to be staff members as well. What I looked for as desirable qualities in a Super Moderator, was for somebody who was intelligent, level headed, well mannered, literate, technically competent, non abusive of authority, and reasonably active on the forum. It was not my intention for Super Moderators to merely moderate and edit posts, but also the reason I wanted Super Moderators on board was to keep an eye on things, and to be another presence on the staff providing an alternate opinion to my own.

Super Moderators are also ambassadors between the Administrators and the regular Registered users. In some forums the moderators are given a shitty job of being expected by the administrators to crack the whip, while at the same time having to answer for all the shit they pulled by being unpopular with the regular members. So they get the shit from both ends. I don't do things like that here, and if there is any dirty work to be done I can do it myself rather than having moderators be my pawns or my proxies. So the purpose of moderators for me are, besides their practical usefulness of validating any posts needing moderation or keeping spammers in check, are to be another presence on the staff and to be ambassadors and representatives of the forum. I realize that it is good if there are staff members who have clout or connections with the rest of the members that I may not have, and if they have divergent points of view from mine.